Knowledge Society Agency (UMIC) main page.

Note for navigation with support technologies: in this page you find 3 main elements: search engine (shortcut key 1); the highlights at the main area of the page (shortcut key 2) e main menu (shortcut key 3).

Knowledge Society Agency (UMIC)
Home  > Emerging Technologies  > News  > INL Board designates top-level management and defines Laboratory's initial guidelines

INL Board designates top-level management and defines Laboratory's initial guidelines

 - 30/05/2008

Logo of INL International Iberian Nanotechnology LaboratoryThe Board of the INL - International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory, meeting in Lisbon on 28 May 2008, designated the top-level management and laid down the initial guidelines for operating the laboratory.

The INL, which is currently being built in Braga, is a joint Portuguese – Spanish initiative. It is the first international scientific organisation on the Iberian Peninsula and the first, and thus far the only, nanotechnology scientific organisation with international legal status.

The INL Board unanimously approved the following nominations: Prof. José Rivas for Director-General, Prof. Paulo Freitas for Deputy Director-General, Prof. Luis Magalhães for Chairman of the Board, and Prof. Montserrat Torné as Vice-Chairman of the Board.

The INL Board authorised the Director-General to sign the contract with the firm designing the Laboratory premises and to hire LNEC - National Civil Engineering Laboratory to help with the tenders for construction and to monitor them, to prepare organisational proposals and proposals for recruiting human resources, and to continue with building cooperation programmes, namely with MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) and the Max Planck Gesellschaft to assist with setting up the Laboratory.

For the record, the INL Installing Committee launched the international tender for the 1st construction contract on 11 March this year.

The Board comprises: Luis Magalhães, President of The Knowledge Society Agency (UMIC) , João Sentieiro, President of Science and Technology Foundation (FCT), Carolina Rego Costa, Jurist, Assistant to the Minister for Science, Technology and Higher Education, on behalf of Portugal, and José Manuel Labastida, Secretary-General for Science and Technology Policy, Montserrat Torné, Director-General for International Cooperation at the Ministry of Innovation and Science, and Fernando Briones, Research Professor at the Higher Scientific Research Council Agency, representing Spain.

Last updated ( 23/08/2011 )